THE RUSH was really less than I thought (a continuation).

As explained in a previous post, I went media/screen/news/basically anything silent for 24 hours while on a Daily Trojan retreat to Palm Desert and Joshua Tree National Park. I began around 10 PM Friday night and went until 10 PM Saturday night. You can read more into my last post (I blacked out for 24 hours. It was incredible.) but needless to say, it was very refreshing to simply not care about how everyone else was living their life, what parties were happening, what my friends around the country were doing, and simply just focusing on myself.

Glad I was able to capture this moment.
Glad I was able to capture this moment, especially since neither of them felt the need to use a phone.

I remember when I initially turned my phone back on, the first thing that happened was a lot of buzzing. I didn’t see any notifications at first (although those appeared very shortly after) I remember feeling like my phone was going to buzz out of my hand. I saw how many notifications I had, but I actually ignored most of them. Of course, I took care of what had to be taken care of, like letting my close friends and parents know I was back online, replying to some emails, messages, and Snapchats, but I never bothered to go through my Snapchat, Twitter, Facebook, or Instagram feeds until Sunday afternoon, in fact.

I realized that the best way for me to be connected was to minimize my circle of friends, influence, whatever you may want to call it. Instead of spending almost 30 minutes trying to catch up with the past 24 hours, it would be much easier for me to just talk to who I care about.

Either way, I cannot lie. I did feel better that I was connected to society and could communicate again, but I think this experience definitely is going to make me consider the ways I share and who I share with. I think this may warrant me going on more blackouts in the future, but for an even longer time. We’ll see.

Leave a Reply

